Dr John Radcliffe, Honorary Fellow

Dr John Radcliffe: Honorary Research Fellow

Dr John Radcliffe continues his career of signficant contributions to public life.

  • 17 November 2009 | Updated 5 January 2015

In this article

  1. Overview
  2. Publishing History


Page 1 of 2


Dr John Radcliffe is an Honorary Research Fellow in CSIRO.

He also holds positions in a number of organisations:

  • Chairman of the Commonwealth Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry Eminent Scientists Group
  • Secretary, SA of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering
  • Chair, Research Advisory Committee, Australian Water Recycling Centre of Excellence, Brisbane
  • Chair, Crawford Fund SA State Committee
  • Member, The Sir Ian McLennan Trust Fund
  • Member, AW Howard Memorial Trust Inc.
  • Member, Farrer Memorial Trust.

In a long and distinguished career, he was previously Deputy Chief Executive of CSIRO responsible for Divisions in the Natural Resources Alliance, at that time Plant Industry, Land and Water, Marine Research, Wildlife & Ecology, Entomology, Atmospheric Research, Forestry and Forest Products.

Prior to that, he was South Australian Director-General of Agriculture.

Over his career, Dr Radcliffe has had many appointments on boards, professional associations and government committees.

Over his career, Dr Radcliffe has had many appointments on boards, professional associations and government committees. He was a Council Member, Royal Agricultural & Horticultural Society of South Australia from 1992 to 2014; Council Member of the University of Adelaide from 2006 to 2014; Deputy Chairman, Advisory Board of the National Centre for Groundwater Research and Training 2008 to 2014; and Commissioner of the National Water Commission from 2005 to 2008. He was also Chairman of the South Australian (SA) Centre for Natural Resources Management, a joint venture established by the SA Minister for Environment and Conservation, between the SA universities, SA Department of Water, Land and Biological Conservation, the South Australian Research and Development Institute, and CSIRO from 2003 to 2007.

From 2000-2006, Dr Radcliffe was a member of the SA Arid Areas Catchment Water Management Board.

Member (Chairman 1997-1999), Executive Council, CAB International (Wallingford, UK) from 1993 to 1999. 

He was Chair of the Board of the South Australian Research and Development Institute from 1993 to 1998.

From 1985 to 1992, Dr Radcliffe was involved with establishing the Murray-Darling Basin Commission, being an SA Deputy Commissioner 1985-90, and SA Commissioner from 1991-93.

Dr Radcliffe served as Project Director for the Australian Research Council (ARC) sponsored Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering studies 'Pesticide Use in Australia' in 2001-2.

In 2003-04 he was the Director and author of 'Water Recycling in Australia', the latter being awarded a commendation by the Australian Water Association in October 2004.

Earlier, he had also been Chairman of the History Trust of South Australia and a member of the Federal Taxation Incentives for the Arts Committee and has served on the Boards of five Cooperative Research Centres. 

Professional experience

Over his career, Dr Radcliffe has held many positions on boards, professional associations and government committees including:

  • Deputy Chief Executive, CSIRO, 1996-1999
  • Director, CSIRO Institute of Plant Production and Processing, 1993-1996
  • CEO, South Australian Research and Development Institute, 1992-1993
  • Director-General of Agriculture, South Australia, 1985-1992
  • Various senior management appointments, SA Department of Agriculture, 1978-1985
  • Dairy Scientist and then Northfield Research Centre Manager, SA Department of Agriculture, 1961, 1965-78.


Dr Radcliffe has been awarded a:

  • Bachelor of Agricultural Science (Honours), from the University of Adelaide
  • Doctor of Philosophy, from the Oregon State University, Corvallis, USA
  • DPM, The University of New South Wales, (UNSW)
  • Graduate Diploma, Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Dr Radcliffe is a Fellow of the:

  • Australian Academy of Technological Sciences & Engineering
  • Australian Institute of Agricultural Science & Technology
  • Australian Society of Animal Production.


Dr Radcliffe has received the following honours:

  • Medal of Australian Agriculture (AIAST), 2009
  • Centenary of Federation Medal 2003 - for his service to Australian society in environmental science and technology
  • Member of the Order of Australia (AM) 2001- for his contribution to natural resource management
  • Order of Australia Medal (OAM) 1987 - for his personal contribution to the development of museums in South Australia.

Read more about CSIRO's work in the area of Water.