CSIRO logo.

Contacts by impact area

A directory containing contact information for research theme leaders. Theme leaders are responsible for achieving impact through science.

  • 5 July 2011 | Updated 9 September 2013

Energy Group contacts

Page 1 of 5

The Energy Group, one of five research groups within CSIRO, is led by a Group Executive.

Its outcome-focused projects are organised into three impact areas that are each under the guidance of a Portfolio Leader - who generally also holds another complementary role in the organisation - and one or more Flagship Directors:

Energy Group

Group Executive

Dr Tom Hatton

Group Executive: Energy

Phone: +61 8 6436 8821

Email: Tom.Hatton@csiro.au

Dr Tom Hatton: Group Executive, Energy

Energy Flagship

Energy Flagship Director

Dr Alex Wonhas

Flagship Director

Flagships and MXD Programs

Phone: +61 2 9490 5059

Alt Phone: +61 407 024 678

Email: Alex.Wonhas@csiro.au

Dr Alex Wonhas: Director, Energy Flagship

Theme Name

Theme Leader

Carbon Futures

Mr Paul Graham

Chief Economist

Energy Flagship

Phone: +61 2 4960 6061

Email: Paul.Graham@csiro.au

Mr Paul Graham: energy economist

Sustainable Stationary Energy and Transport

Dr Jim Smitham

Theme Leader

Sustainable Stationary Energy and Transport

Phone: +61 2 4960 6077

Email: Jim.Smitham@csiro.au

Dr Jim Smitham: leading research into low emission energy technologies

Local Energy Systems

Dr Glenn Platt

Theme Leader

Local Energy Systems

Phone: +61 2 4960 6120

Email: Glenn.Platt@csiro.au

Dr Glenn Platt: engineering change in energy usage

Advanced Coal Technology

Portfolio Director

Dr Lincoln Paterson

Acting Director

Advanced Coal Technology

Phone: +61 3 9545 8350

Email: Lincoln.Paterson@csiro.au

Dr Lincoln Paterson: understanding fluid flow in sedimentary rocks

Theme Name

Theme Leader

Coal Mining - Enhancing Value, Safety and Environment

Dr Hua Guo

Theme Leader

Coal Mining - Enhancing Value, Safety and Environment

Phone: +61 7 3327 4608

Email: hua.guo@csiro.au

Dr Hua Guo: leading research into coal mining

Developing Low Emissions Coal Utilization Technology

Dr David Harris

Theme Leader

Developing Low Emissions Coal Utilization Technology

Phone: +61 7 3327 4617

Email: David.Harris@csiro.au

Dr David Harris: a leader of low emission electricity research

Carbon Dioxide Capture & Geological Storage

Dr Lincoln Paterson

Theme Leader

Carbon Dioxide Capture & Geological Storage

Phone: +61 3 9545 8350

Email: Lincoln.Paterson@csiro.au

Dr Lincoln Paterson: understanding fluid flow in sedimentary rocks

Petroleum & Geothermal

Portfolio Director

Dr Patrick Hartley

Acting Director

Petroleum and Geothermal Research

Phone: +61 3 9545 2595

Email: Patrick.Hartley@csiro.au

Dr Patrick Hartley: helping to secure a clean, reliable and wealth-creating energy future

Theme Name

Theme Leader

Unconventional Petroleum & Geothermal

Dr Seng Lim

Theme Leader

Phone: +61 3 95458529

Email: Seng.Lim@csiro.au

Dr Seng Lim: fluidised bed specialist

Oil & Gas Exploration

Dr Ben Clennell

Theme Leader

Petroleum Exploration and Production

Phone: +61 8 6436 8599

Email: Ben.Clennell@csiro.au

Dr Ben Clennell: leading CSIRO's petroleum exploration and production research

Oceans

Director

Dr Kenneth Lee

Director

Wealth from Oceans Flagship

Phone: +61 8 6436 8629

Email: Ken.Lee@csiro.au

Executive Assistant

Catherine Fetherston

Acting Executive Assistant

CSIRO Wealth from Oceans Flagship

Phone: +61 8 6436 8704

Email: Catherine.Fetherston@csiro.au

Theme Name

Theme Leader

Our Resilient Coastal Australia

Dr Andy Steven

Theme Leader

Our Resilient Coastal Australia

Phone: +61 7 3833 5570

Email: Andy.Steven@csiro.au

Dr Andy Steven: Theme Leader, Our Resilient Coastal Australia

Sustainable Australian Fisheries & Ecosystems

Dr David C Smith

Theme Leader

Sustainable Ocean Ecosystems and Living Resources

Phone: +61 3 6232 5491

Email: David.C.Smith@csiro.au

Dr David C Smith: generating sound advice for marine resource management

The Dynamic Ocean

Dr Susan Wijffels

Theme Leader

The Dynamic Ocean

Phone: +61 3 6232 5450

Email: Susan.Wijffels@csiro.au

Dr Susan Wijffels: observing and understanding the world's oceans

Read more about the Energy Group.