CSIRO’s executive team is responsible for the development and implementation of the organisational strategy. The Executive Team comprises the Chief Executive, a Deputy Chief Executive, five science Group Executives and the Chief Finance Officer.

  • Larry Marshall View profile External link

    Chief Executive - Executive

    Dr Larry Marshall was born in Sydney and he received both his undergraduate and postgraduate education at Macquarie University. He was a cadet scientist at the Defence Science and Technology Organisation and began his career as an engineer with a PhD in Physics. He is a scientist, technology innovator and business leader with a wealth of experience in developing and applying science. Dr Marshall has 25 years' experience as an international technology entrepreneur, holds 20 patents, and has founded six successful United States companies in biotechnology, photonics, telecommunications and semiconductors. Term of appointment: 01.01.15 to 31.12.16; 01.01.17 to 30.06.20.

  • Craig Roy View profile External link

    Deputy Chief Executive, CSIRO - Executive

    As Deputy Chief Executive of CSIRO, Mr Roy's responsibilities include leading the execution of the organisation's strategy and ensuring the global competitiveness of CSIRO's science. He is also responsible for Agriculture & Food, Commercial & Governance, Market Vision & Innovation, Science & Governance, Organisational Development, Communications & Marketing and Human Resources.

  • Hazel Bennett View profile External link

    Chief Operating Officer - Executive

    As Chief Finance Operating Officer (CFO COO) and Executive Director Finance & Services, Ms Hazel Bennett is responsible for CSIRO's Health, Safety & Environment, Finance, Corporate Affairs, Governance and Board and Business & Infrastructure Services groups.

  • Peter Mayfield

    Director - Energy

  • Anita Hill View profile External link

    Executive Director, Future Industries - Executive

    Dr Anita Hill is the Executive Director of Future Industries at CSIRO which includes Manufacturing, Health and Biosecurity, and CSIRO Services. She also serves as Chief Scientist for CSIRO. In 2014 and 2015 during the transition of the CSIRO chief executives she served as acting Chief Executive. Dr Hill’s research is in materials and process engineering and, more specifically, in transport of atoms, ions and small molecules in condensed matter.

  • Dave Williams View profile External link

    Executive Director- Digital, National Facilities And Collections - Executive

    Dr David Williams leads CSIRO's Digital Business Unit, Data 61, as well as National Facilities, Collections and scientific infrastructure.

  • John Manners View profile External link

    Director CSIRO Agriculture - Agriculture & Food

    Dr John Manners, Director of CSIRO Agriculture & Food, has an interest in researching sub-tropical crops, including sugar, in northern Australia.

Contact us

Have a question? Contact us using the form below, or call 1300 363 400 during business hours, .

Your contact details

First name must be filled in

Your enquiry*

We'll need to know what you want to contact us about so we can give you an answer.

Please tell us how you heard about CSIRO