Outstanding performance in research is recognised by various international and national award schemes.

Here are just a few examples of awards and honours granted in 2012–13 that demonstrate our effectiveness in research and its application in industry and the community.

Order of Australia

Member (AM)

Dr David Rentz (formerly Ecosystems Sciences) for significant service to science, particularly in the field of entomology, and to the community.

Mr Richard Eckersley (formerly CSIRO Media) for significant service to the community as a researcher, analyst and commentator on population health and wellbeing in Australia.

Australian Museum Eureka Prizes 2012

Presented annually by the Australian Museum, the Eureka Prizes reward excellence in the fields of scientific research and innovation, science leadership, school science and science journalism and communication.

Dr Matthew Hill (Materials, Science and Engineering) was named the Emerging Leader in Science for his research into a type of ultra-porous materials known as Metal Organic Frameworks – materials that can provide cleaner energy and lower human impact on the environment.

Dr Yonggang Zhu (Materials, Science and Engineering) was awarded the Defence Science and Technology Organisation award for Outstanding Science in Support of Defence or National Security. Dr Zhu was recognised for his ‘lab on a chip’ work that has led to the creation of an ultra-fast chemical agent detector – a portable plastic microchip sensor that can quickly detect toxic chemical substances.

The Sir Ian Clunies Ross Award

Dr Paul Wood (formerly Animal Health) was awarded the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering Clunies Ross Award for fundamentally changing the way tuberculosis is detected and treated in developing countries.

The Royal Medal

Dr Andrew Holmes (CSIRO Fellow) was awarded the 2012 Royal Medal from the Royal Society London. Three Royal Medals are awarded annually for the most important contributions in the physical, biological and applied or interdisciplinary sciences.

Dr Holmes received the award for his contributions at the interface of the materials and biological sciences that will lead to outcomes that will benefit society. He played a pioneering role in the field of applied organic electronic materials.

CSIRO Chairman’s Medal

The Chairman’s Medal honours the most exceptional research in CSIRO and is awarded to the scientist or team whose research is of national or international importance in advancing scientific knowledge, technology application or commercialisation.

The winners of the 2012 Chairman’s Medal were Dr Xiaojing Huang (team leader) and the Ngara Backhaul Project Team. The team received the award in recognition of their outstanding achievement of developing the world’s fastest ten gigabit per second microwave link.

This innovation has the potential to bridge the city-country gap and significantly improve broadband services in rural and regional Australia.

The CSIRO Medal for Lifetime Achievement

This Medal is awarded to individuals who have a record of sustained and meritorious achievement over a prolonged period of CSIRO service. In 2012, two CSIRO Medals for Lifetime Achievement were awarded.

Dr Richard Head
(Preventative Health Flagship) was recognised for being at the forefront of the National Research Flagships Program – one of the most significant changes in CSIRO’s history. Dr Head also established the Preventative Health Flagship that led the stimulus for a preventative approach to human health at a national level.

Mr Terry Healy
(CSIRO Legal) was recognised for the formation and leadership of CSIRO’s Legal function, providing highly respected legal and policy advice, mentoring colleagues, managing CSIRO’s landmark wireless local area network intellectual property litigation, and contribution to Australian innovation.

Winners of the Chairman’s Medal: the Ngara Backhaul Project Team (left to right): Dr Eileen Doyle (CSIRO Board member), Dr Megan Clark (Chief Executive, CSIRO), Dr Xiaojing Huang, Mr Val Dyadyuk, Dr Andrew Zhang, Mr Nipun Bhaskar, Dr Jay Guo, Dr John Bunton, Mr Mark De Alwis, Mr Alex Grancea, Mr Ivan Kekic, Ms Jayasri Joseph, Mr Chris Lewis, Mr John Matthews, Mr Keith Bengston, Mr Carl Holmesby, Mr Joseph Pathikulangara.

Contact us

Your contact details
0 / 100
0 / 1900
You shouldn't be able to see this field. Please try again and leave the field blank.

For security reasons attachments are not accepted.