CSIRO is governed by a Board which is responsible to the Australian Government for the overall strategy, governance and performance of the Organisation.

The CSIRO Board comprises nine part-time, non-executive members including the Chairman plus a full-time Chief Executive.

All non-executive members are appointed by the Governor-General. The Chief Executive is appointed by the CSIRO Board, in consultation with the Minister.

On 1 July 2012 the importance of overseeing risk and health and safety was recognised by reconstituting the Board committees.

The Board also adopted revised Charters for the Board and the Board committees that expressed responsibilities more in terms of the scope or objectives of the bodies.

Operational aspects and the detailed duties were transferred to a Board Governance Document.

In 2012–13 the Board operated partly through two standing committees:

  • Board Audit and Risk Committee
  • Board People, Health and Safety Committee

On appointment Board members receive a formal induction on the Organisation and their duties. Members maintain their professional development and to inform their decision-making participate in visits to CSIRO sites and governance and business briefings.

In the pursuit of their duties, Board members may take such independent professional advice as is considered necessary and have complete access to senior management.

In mid-2013 the Chairman of the Board coordinated a self assessment review of the Board’s performance. Reviews are conducted at least every 18 months, with every second review conducted by an independent consultant, commissioned by the Chairman. Board committees review performance annually and report to the Board.

Details of the Board members, including qualifications and terms of appointment are included below in the section Board membership 2012–13.

Details of remuneration, membership of Board Committees and attendance at meetings, and related party directorships and associations are shown in the financial statements.

The Board Charter and membership profiles are available at: The CSIRO Board.

Disclosure of interests and related entity transactions

Board members and the Chief Executive declare material interests in accordance with the SIR Act and CAC Act, as appropriate.

The Board Governance Document contains processes for managing conflicts of interest including a requirement that members absent themselves from discussions and voting, where a member has declared a material personal interest, or where a potential or actual conflict of interest or duty arises.

In 2012–13, the Board did not consider any transactions where a member of the Board was also a director of the other entity involved in the transaction.

Board membership 2012–13


From left to right: Dr Eileen Doyle, Ms Mary Boydell, Professor Peter Høj, Mr Simon McKeon AO (Chairman), Professor Tom Spurling AM, Dr Megan Clark (Chief Executive), Ms Jane Bennett and Ms Shirley In’t Veld. Absent: Mr Hutch Ranck


Mr Simon McKeon AO

Company Director
28 June 2010 – 27 June 2015

Deputy Chairman

Dr Terry Cutler

BA (Hons) PhD Hon DUniv FAHA FIPA
Cutler and Company Pty Ltd
25 July 2002 – 24 July 2012

Dr Eileen Doyle
BMath (Hons) MMath PhD FAICD
Company Director
15 February 2006 – 14 February 2016
(Deputy Chairman from 25 October 2012)

Chief Executive

Dr Megan Clark

BSc (Hons) PhD Hon DSc Hon DApSc FTSE GAICD
1 January 2009 – 31 December 2014


Ms Jane Bennett
Company Director
25 October 2012 – 24 October 2015

Ms Mary Boydell
Company Director
26 June 2009 – 25 June 2014

Professor Peter Høj
MSc PhD DUniv (honoris causa) FTSE
Vice Chancellor and President
University of Queensland
7 December 2011 – 6 December 2014

Ms Shirley In’t Veld
Company Director
28 June 2012 – 27 June 2015

Mr Hutch Ranck
BSc Economics FAICD
Company Director
1 May 2011 – 30 April 2016

Dr Don Russell
BEc (Hons) MEc PhD CFA
Secretary, Department of Industry, Innovation, Science, Research and Tertiary Education
19 October 2011 – Resigned 2 November 2012

Professor Tom Spurling AM
Research Professor
Swinburne University of Technology
1 May 2008 – 30 April 2012
Reappointed 28 June 2012 – 27 June 2015

Contact us

Your contact details
0 / 100
0 / 1900
You shouldn't be able to see this field. Please try again and leave the field blank.

For security reasons attachments are not accepted.