Outstanding performance in research is recognised by various international and national award schemes.

Here are just a few examples of awards and honours granted in 2013–14 that demonstrate our effectiveness in research and its application in industry and the community and the calibre of our people.

Order of Australia

The Order of Australia is the principal and most prestigious means of recognising outstanding members of the community at a national level. In 2014, five CSIRO members were recognised.

Member (AM)

Prof Michael McLaughlin (Land and Water) for significant service to conservation and the environment, particularly through developing public policy on science-based strategies for minimising metals in the environment.

Dr Sadanandan Nambiar (Ecosystem Sciences) for distinguished service to science, particularly in the field of sustainable productivity and management of forests, as a researcher and author and as a role model for young scientists.

Prof Michael Poole (Plant Industry) for significant service to environmental science as a leader, researcher and advisor to government.

Dr Ross Tellam (Food and Health Sciences) for significant service to science through research roles in the field of livestock productivity and sustainability.

Companion (AC)

Dr Megan Clark (Chief Executive) for eminent service to scientific research and development through fostering innovation, to science administration through strategic leadership roles and to the development of public policy for technological sciences.

Australian Museum Eureka Prizes 2013

Presented annually by the Australian Museum, the Eureka Prizes reward excellence in the fields of scientific research and innovation, science leadership, school science and science journalism and communication.

The Zebedee Team (Computational Informatics and Commercial) was awarded the ANSTO Eureka Prize for Innovative Use of Technology for their handheld 3D laser mapping system. The device uses a simple spring to overcome the cost, slow speed and technical constraints of existing systems and makes intricate 3D images of spaces previously impossible to map. The device is already being used for heritage, policing and mining applications in Australia and overseas (more on Program 1: National Research Flagships).

The Future Farm Industries CRC Enrich Project Team (Animal Food and Health Sciences) was awarded the Caring for our Country Landcare Eureka Prize for Sustainable Agriculture. The team discovered that feeding livestock native shrubs could improve agricultural profitability by up to 24 per cent in low-to-medium rainfall areas and decrease greenhouse gas emissions and erosion. The Enrich project is a collaboration with land managers, University of Western Australia and the South Australian Research and Development Institute.

The Sir Ian Clunies Ross Award

Awarded by the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering, the Sir Ian Clunies Ross Award recognises outstanding application of science and technology that provides economic, social and/or environmental benefit to Australia.

Dr Ezio Rizzardo, Dr Graeme Moad and Dr San Thang (Materials, Science and Engineering) were recognised for developing better ways of making polymers and plastics, especially through the use of RAFT (Reversible Addition Fragmentation chain Transfer) technology, a living radical polymerisation process they invented and now has application across cosmetics, pharmaceuticals, paints and electronic devices.

The Rank Prize

The Rank Prize for human and animal nutrition and crop husbandry is awarded every two years.

Dr Richard Richards (Plant Industry) with Professor Graham Farquhar from the Australian National University received the 2014 Rank Prize for pioneering the understanding of isotope discrimination in plants and its application to breed water-efficient wheat varieties. The pair are the second ever Australians to win the Rank Prize.

The Lawrence Sperry Award

The Lawrence Sperry Award recognises notable contributions made by a young person, age 35 or under, to the advancement of aeronautics or astronautics.

Dr Kimberley Clayfield (Astronomy and Space Science) received the award for significant and sustained contributions to the development of the Australian aerospace sector through national public policy, scientific leadership and education activities.

CSIRO Chairman’s Medal

The CSIRO Chairman’s Medal honours the very best in CSIRO research. It is awarded to the scientist or team whose research is of national or international importance in advancing scientific knowledge, technology application or commercialisation.

The Hendra Virus Research Team (Australian Animal Health Laboratory) was awarded the 2013 CSIRO Chairman’s Medal for the pioneering research that led to the world’s first horse vaccine, Equivax® HeV and human treatment against the deadly Hendra virus. This vaccine will save human lives by protecting horses from the disease, thereby breaking the only known Hendra virus transmission pathway from bats (the original carriers) to humans. The launch of the vaccine was heralded internationally as an outstanding example of the One Health approach for control of a major public health threat.

Team members:
Dr Deborah Middleton, Professor Linfa Wang, Professor Christopher C Broder, Dr Jackie Pallister, Gary Crameri, Dr Katharine Bossart, Reuben Klein, Dr Mark Wareing, Dr JinAn Huang, Dr Trent Monroe, Jennifer Barr, Meng Yu, Jessica Haining, Rachel Arkinstall, Dr John Bingham, Dr Dimiter S Dimitrov, Dr Zhongyu Zhu, Dr Zia Hashmi, Dr Nigel Edwards, Dr Anthony Cameron, Dr Glenn Marsh, Dr John White, Sarah-Jane Eastwood, Leah Frazer, Dr Wojtek Michalski, Jean Payne, Jennifer Harper, Dr Mark Ford, Sandy Matheson, Noel Collins, Chris Darcy, Professor Martyn Jeggo, Dr Bryan Eaton, John Muschialli.

CSIRO Medal for Lifetime Achievement

The CSIRO Medal for Lifetime Achievement is awarded to individuals who have a record of sustained and meritorious achievement over a prolonged period of CSIRO service.

Dr Bruce Pengelly (Ecosystem Sciences) was awarded the 2013 CSIRO Medal for Lifetime Achievement for his career spanning 44 years as a CSIRO technician, agricultural scientist, research manager and leader. Dr Pengelly has developed new pasture species for northern Australia and led pioneering research programs that today continue to benefit the livelihoods of smallholder farmers. Throughout his career, he has delivered scientific impact, people-oriented solutions and long-standing relationships in Australia, Asia and Africa.

Members of the Hendra Virus Research Team – our 2013 CSIRO Chairman’s Medal winner.

Contact us

Your contact details

First name must be filled in

We'll need to know what you want to contact us about so we can give you an answer.