This year we celebrate 19 distinguished awards, recognising the outstanding contributions of our people and teams to science.

Order of Australia

Companion of the Order (AC)

Professor Trevor John McDougall (CSIRO Honorary Fellow) for eminent service to science and education, particularly in the area of ocean thermodynamics, as an academic and researcher to furthering the understanding of climate science and as a mentor of young scientists.

Professor Ezio Rizzardo (CSIRO Fellow) for eminent service to scientific technological research and development in the field of polymer chemistry, to its application in the biomedical, electronics and nanotechnology context, as an author and through mentorship roles.

Member in the General Division of the Order (AM)

Dr Robin Anthony Bedding (CSIRO Honorary Fellow) for significant service to science in the field of entomology as a researcher, and to the forestry industry both nationally and internationally.

Australian Museum Eureka Prizes

The Colvera Team: CSIRO, Clinical Genomics Pty Ltd and Flinders University won the 2017 Johnson & Johnson Eureka prize for Innovation in Medical Research. The team developed a clinically validated blood test that sensitively and accurately detects cancer DNA in the blood plasma of colorectal cancer patients. This will enable oncologists to improve treatment by detecting disease earlier, which may help more patients to survive.

Farrer Memorial Medal and Grains Research and Development Corporation Recognising and Rewarding Excellence Award

Dr John Kirkegaard was awarded the 2017 Farrer Memorial Medal for his work in understanding soil-plant interactions to make dryland farming systems more productive, efficient and sustainable. He also received an award of excellence from the Grains Research and Development Corporation recognising his outstanding ability to develop practical and effective crop management practices.

Web of Science Highly Cited ResearcherS 2017

Dr Alan Richardson, Dr Kemal Kazan, Dr John Manners, Dr Elizabeth Fulton, Dr Pep Canadell and Dr Raphael Viscarra Rossel were named among the most cited authors in their respective fields of study. The Highly Cited Researchers list recognises leading researchers in the sciences and social sciences through the publications indexed in the Web of Science core collection that rank in the top 1% by citations for field and publication over an 11-year period.

Telstra Tasmanian Business Woman of the Year

Toni Moate was named 2017 Telstra Tasmanian Business Woman of the Year and also received the 2017 Telstra Tasmanian Public Sector and Academia Award. She won the awards for successfully leading a $44 million business unit, contributing to national research infrastructure and delivering the marine research vessel Investigator build, as well as for her commitment to values-driven communication and empowering others to make a positive impact.

2018 Queensland Women in STEM Prize

Cécile Godde received the Judge’s Choice Award in recognition of her work to incorporate many dimensions in her agricultural research. Her passion for creating a better planet and for gender equity in science were also acknowledged.

Elsevier Scopus Researcher Awards 2017

Dr Michelle Colgrave was awarded runner-up for the Women in Research Award. The award was created to inspire and encourage more female researchers who choose to pursue academic work. It recognises outstanding researchers who have made significant contributions to research in Australia and New Zealand.

Blue Planet Prize

Dr Jennifer Stauber standing with Larry Marshall holding the CSIRO Medal for Lifetime Achievement.

Dr Jennifer Stauber - CSIRO Medal for Lifetime Achievement

Professor Brian Walker was awarded the 2018 Blue Planet Prize for outstanding achievements in scientific research and its application in solving global environmental problems. He has pioneered ‘resilience science’ in social-ecological systems.

Soil Science Australia Prescott Medal

Dr Neil McKenzie was awarded the J.A. Prescott Medal for outstanding contributions to soil science.

CSIRO Chairman’s Medal for science excellence

This award recognises teams who have made significant scientific or technological advances that create value for our customers through innovation, and that deliver positive impact for Australia.

The Cereal rust disease prevention team were awarded the medal for contributing to global food security by protecting cereal crops against rust diseases. They worked with the Grains Research and Development Corporation on this pioneering research.

Dr Mark Stafford Smith standing with Larry Marshall holding the CSIRO Medal for Lifetime Achievement.

Dr Mark Stafford Smith - CSIRO Medal for Lifetime Achievement

CSIRO Medal for Lifetime Achievement

This award recognises individuals who have a record of sustained and meritorious achievements in science, technology and innovation or the support of science, technology and innovation.

Dr Jennifer Stauber was awarded the medal for her landmark research on the bioavailability and toxicity of contaminants underpinning the development of the national water and sediment quality guidelines for environmental protection in Australasia and globally over 38 years.

Dr Mark Stafford Smith was awarded the medal for over 30 years of international leadership in sustainability science, valued for informing policy and management of human ecosystems under global change and uncertainty, and for supporting our research teams in climate adaptation and sustainable development.

Contact us

Your contact details
0 / 100
0 / 1900
You shouldn't be able to see this field. Please try again and leave the field blank.

For security reasons attachments are not accepted.