The School Award recognises leadership in Indigenous STEM education.

Schools who are actively engaging Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander students and communities in STEM programs such as but not limited to the Inquiry for Indigenous Science Students (I2S2), PRIME Futures or Science Pathways for Indigenous Communities are encouraged to apply for this award.

Nominations may be submitted by principals and school staff.

The winning school will receive $10,000 to contribute towards progressing inquiry based learning within the school and incorporating local Indigenous knowledge that can be linked to the curriculum. The principal will also receive an invitation to an all-expenses paid trip representing their school at the BHP Billiton Science and Engineering Awards held in Melbourne during February 2020.

The winning school will also be selected as the location for the announcement of all of the Indigenous STEM Awards winners, thus providing the school with a national profile for Indigenous STEM excellence.

To be eligible for this award the school must:

  • be effectively and innovatively implementing STEM programs and be able to demonstrate the impact this is having on Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander students as well as non-Indigenous students and teachers
  • be committed to Teacher Professional Development that incorporates Indigenous knowledge into core STEM programs and lesson plans that align with Australian curriculum
  • be engaging locally with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander leaders, community and organisations to incorporate Indigenous knowledge into core STEM programs and lesson plans

Apply for the School Award

Previous winners of this award have been Gordonvale State High School and Wiluna Remote Community School.

Contact us

Your contact details

First name must be filled in

We'll need to know what you want to contact us about so we can give you an answer.