The initial members of the Advisory Committee supporting Andrew Stevens as Interim Chair of the Data Standards Body have been announced.

The Advisory Committee will provide guidance and advice to the independent Chair on the key issues involved in the development and implementation of technical standards to support consumer data sharing, starting in the banking sector.

CSIRO's Data61 is also providing advisory and support services for the interim Data Standards Body for a period of three years.

Following a public call for nominations, the Chair received 44 submissions. Given the standards setting role and its scope across multiple industries, the Chair is determined to ensure a broad range of sectors and expertise were represented on the Advisory Committee, with individuals from major and regional banks, FinTechs and vendors, energy and telecommunications sectors, consumer and privacy groups having the opportunity to contribute.

The first set of appointments to the Advisory Committee is being made for 12 months, with a strong focus on the banking sector given it is the first sector to implement the Consumer Data Right. The initial members of the Advisory Committee are:

  • Andrew Stevens, Interim Chair of the Data Standards Body
  • Andy White, Chief Operating Officer, Australian Payments Network
  • Emma Gray, Chief Data Officer, ANZ
  • Gary Thursby, Group Executive, Strategy & Enterprise Business Services, Westpac
  • John Stanton, Chief Executive Officer, Communications Alliance
  • Kate Crous, General Manager Strategy and Operations, Digital, Commonwealth Bank of Australia
  • Lauren Solomon, Chief Executive Officer, Consumer Policy Research Centre
  • Lisa Schutz, Managing Director, Verifier
  • Luis Uguina Carrion, Chief Digital Officer, Macquarie Bank
  • Mal Webster, Chief Risk Officer, Endeavour Mutual Bank
  • Mark Perry, APAC Chief Technology Officer, Ping Identity
  • Martin Granell, Chief Technology Officer, AGL
  • Patrick Wright, Chief Technology and Operations Officer, NAB
  • Ross Sharrott, Chief Technical Officer, Moneytree
  • Stuart Stoyan, Founder and Chief Executive Officer, MoneyPlace
  • Viveka Weiley, Head of New Things, CHOICE

The Advisory Committee will initially meet monthly, with locations varying between Melbourne, Sydney and Canberra. It will work collaboratively and openly, with minutes from meetings published on the Data Standards Body website.

Technical working groups are also being established, to focus on technical requirements associated with the development of open standards for the banking sector. More information on these technical working groups will be shared by Data61 over the coming weeks.

For more information visit: Consumer Data Standards.

Hear our news first

Want to hear our news as it happens, and be the first to see our most exciting stories? Subscribing to our news releases and newsletters including Snapshot will give you the latest info.

News release contact

Contact us

Your contact details
0 / 100
0 / 1900
You shouldn't be able to see this field. Please try again and leave the field blank.

For security reasons attachments are not accepted.