Blog icon

The Executive team is supported by the CSIRO Leadership Team (CLT)

Download a copy of the full Executive Team and CLT organisation chart PDF (106 KB).

Dr Larry Marshall

Chief Executive (EXECUTIVE)

Dr Larry Marshall was born in Sydney and has a PhD in physics from Macquarie University, NSW, completing part of it while studying at Stanford University in the United States (US). He is a scientist, technology innovator and business leader with more than 25 years’ experience in creating new value and impact with science. Dr Marshall has more than 100 peer reviewed publications and conference papers, holds 20 patents, has founded six successful US companies in biotechnology, photonics, telecommunications and semiconductors, and has served on 20 boards of high-tech companies operating in the US, Australia and China. He is a member of the Accelerating R&D in NSW Advisory Committee (ARDAC), a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Physics (AIP), the Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering (ATSE), and the Australian Institute of Company Directors (AICD), and ex-officio member of the National Science and Technology Council.
Term of appointment: 01.01.15 to 31.12.16; 01.01.17 to 30.06.20; 01.07.20 to 30.06.23.

Dr Peter Mayfield

Executive Director – Environment, Energy And Resources (EXECUTIVE)

As Executive Director Environment, Energy and Resources, Dr Peter Mayfield has responsibility for approximately 1400 researchers in Energy, Mineral Resources, Land & Water, and Oceans & Atmosphere. These researchers provide science and technology solutions that will enhance the value Australia derives from its vast energy and mineral resources while maintaining and enhancing the sustainability of our atmosphere, oceans and continent.

Dr Dave Williams

Executive Director- Digital, National Facilities And Collections (EXECUTIVE)

Dr David Williams is the Executive Director of Digital, National Facilities and Collections at CSIRO. This diverse portfolio includes a range of business units and national facilities including Data61; Astronomy and Space Science; National Research Collections Australia; Information, Management & Technology; the Australian Animal Health Laboratory; the Australian Telescope National Facility, The Pawsey Supercomputing Centre and the Marine National Facility.

Ms Judi Zielke

Chief Operating Officer

Judi Zielke is Chief Operating Officer at CSIRO and heads its Operations Group responsible for finance, property, governance and corporate affairs. Judi has had extensive experience in the public sector, encompassing a range of policy advice and implementation positions in the Australian Government in areas of Trade, Attorney General’s, Industry and Innovation, and Infrastructure. She is also a Member of the Board of the Queensland Reconstruction Authority.

Mr Nigel Warren

Executive Director, Growth

Nigel Warren is Executive Director for Growth at CSIRO and leads its Business Development & Commercial, Global, Science Impact & Policy and ON Innovation programs and teams. Prior to joining CSIRO in 2016, Nigel was Australia’s Consul-General and Senior Trade Commissioner based in San Francisco California, where he also had attached agency responsibility for AUSFilm, Australia’s film promotion agency, and was a committee member of G’Day USA. From 2004-09, Nigel was Australia’s Senior Trade Commissioner Latin America, based in Santiago, Chile and managed Australia’s Trade, Investment and Consulate-General network throughout Mexico, Colombia, Brazil, Peru, Chile and Argentina. Nigel has private sector experience across Asia and the United States of America as the Vice President of Worldwide Sales for Equilibrium Inc., a US enterprise software technology company based in San Francisco. He is also Chair of the CSIRO Chile Board and a board member of the Council on Australia Latin American Relations (COALAR).

Ms Katherine Paroz

Executive Director, People

Katherine Paroz has 20+ years’ experience leading senior global human resources teams, across the telecommunications, technology and health sectors. She has particular expertise in talent management and leadership development. Prior to joining CSIRO, Katherine held the role of Group Executive, HR at Healthscope Ltd, a leading private healthcare organisation with 20,000 employees and over $2 billion in revenue. She previously held a range of senior HR & Talent roles at Telstra, including Chief Talent Officer & A/Group Executive, HR. Katherine is a well-known and respected business leader, particularly for leading innovation in the enterprise-wide delivery of best in class People strategies.

Ms Kirsten Rose


As Executive Director, Future Industries, Kirsten is a member of the CSIRO Executive Team. In this role, she leads a portfolio which comprises the Agriculture and Food, Health and Biosecurity, Manufacturing, and Services Business Units of CSIRO. Kirsten is a respected leader in technology and innovation, with a career spanning 30 years in the US, UK and Australia. Prior to joining CSIRO, she was Head of Innovation, Sustainable Operations at BHP, where she had global responsibility for bringing together innovation and technology to drive material improvements in key sustainability-related challenges. Her previous positions include Director of the Founder Institute, an entrepreneur training and start-up launch program, State Manager for the Australian Institute of Company Directors and CEO of the Sustainable Energy Association of Australia. Kirsten actively supports the innovation ecosystem through Non-Executive Director and advisory board roles, as well as mentoring, and enjoys helping entrepreneurs commercialise their ideas.

Dr Sarah Pearce


Dr Pearce has been with CSIRO for 10 years as the Deputy Director of CSIRO Astronomy & Space Science. She became the third female Chief Scientist of CSIRO in January 2021. After completing her PhD in Physics, Dr Pearce was a senior science advisor in the UK Parliamentary Office of Science and Technology, where she gained an understanding of how science can come together with policy to create impact. At CSIRO, Dr Pearce led engagement in the international Square Kilometre Array (SKA) project and was Australia’s science representative on the negotiating team for the SKA Treaty. In 2020, she was elected as a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering, was named NSW Business Woman of the Year, and Executive of the Year at the 2020 Australian Space Awards. She is a Superstar of STEM and an advocate for women in science and technology.

Contact us

Find out how we can help you and your business. Get in touch using the form below and our experts will get in contact soon!

CSIRO will handle your personal information in accordance with the Privacy Act 1988 (Cth) and our Privacy Policy.

First name must be filled in

Surname must be filled in

I am representing *

Please choose an option

Please provide a subject for the enquriy

0 / 100

We'll need to know what you want to contact us about so we can give you an answer

0 / 1900

You shouldn't be able to see this field. Please try again and leave the field blank.