Blog icon

Gulumoerrgin (Larrakia) seasons calendar

Gulumoerrgin is the Indigenous language for Darwin and the surrounding regions of Cox Peninsula and Gunn Point in the Northern Territory1.

Members of the language group, Lorraine Williams, Judith Williams, Maureen Ogden, Keith Risk and Anne Risk, contributed to the development of the Gulumoerrgin (Larrakia) seasonal calendar.

The Gulumoerrgin seasonal year is divided into seven main seasons:

  • Balnba (rainy season)
  • Dalay (monsoon season)
  • Mayilema (speargrass, Magpie Goose egg and knock ‘em down season)
  • Damibila (Barramundi and bush fruit time)
  • Dinidjanggama (heavy dew time)
  • Gurrulwa (big wind time)
  • Dalirrgang (build-up).

The calendar was developed as part of the Tropical Rivers and Coastal Knowledge program.



  1. Lorraine Williams, Judith Williams, Maureen Ogden, Keith Risk, Anne Risk and Emma Woodward. 2012. Gulumoerrgin Seasons (calendar): Larrakia, Darwin - Northern Territory. CSIRO Ecosystem Sciences, Darwin, NT.

Hear our news first

Want to hear our news as it happens, and be the first to see our most exciting stories? Subscribing to our news releases and newsletters including Snapshot will give you the latest info.

Subscribe to our news and know first

Contact us

Find out how we can help you and your business. Get in touch using the form below and our experts will get in contact soon!

CSIRO will handle your personal information in accordance with the Privacy Act 1988 (Cth) and our Privacy Policy.

First name must be filled in

Surname must be filled in

I am representing *

Please choose an option

Please provide a subject for the enquriy

0 / 100

We'll need to know what you want to contact us about so we can give you an answer

0 / 1900

You shouldn't be able to see this field. Please try again and leave the field blank.