Blog icon

CREST provides a framework to support teachers to introduce inquiry learning to their students, and to guide them towards open inquiry. 

CREST is a national, non-competitive awards program presented in six levels: Green, Orange, Blue, Bronze, Silver and Gold. 

The awards are assessed on a competency basis, and every student that demonstrates they have met the requirements of an award, will receive that award.

Students conducting a CREST inquiry may work alone or in a team of up to three students.

CREST links STEM inquiries and projects to the Australian Curriculum, providing meaningful context for students to develop, practice and apply their general curriculum capabilities, including:

  • critical and creative thinking
  • ethical understanding
  • personal and social capabilities
  • literacy and numeracy skills.

CREST inquiry actvities and support materials are available to registered schools through CREST Online.

\A single school registration provides access to all six levels of CREST awards. The cost for a school to register for CREST is $55 for a calendar year (January - December) and $20 for each subsequent year. The school registration process is done by a teacher through the CREST Online portal.

Further information can be found in the Frequently Asked Questions in CREST Online.

Download our CREST factsheet PDF (246 KB).

Contact us

Find out how we can help you and your business. Get in touch using the form below and our experts will get in contact soon!

CSIRO will handle your personal information in accordance with the Privacy Act 1988 (Cth) and our Privacy Policy.

First name must be filled in

Surname must be filled in

I am representing *

Please choose an option

Please provide a subject for the enquriy

0 / 100

We'll need to know what you want to contact us about so we can give you an answer

0 / 1900

You shouldn't be able to see this field. Please try again and leave the field blank.