Blog icon

24 May 2018 Statement

The Treasurer yesterday announced the appointment of Mr Andrew Stevens as the interim Chair of the Data Standards Body. This will facilitate the development of technical standards for data sharing, starting in the banking sector with Open Banking.

Mr Stevens is the former Managing Director of IBM Australia, Chairman of the Advanced Manufacturing Growth Centre, and a current director of MYOB, Stockland, the Thorn Group, and the Committee for Economic Development of Australia. He is a former director on the National Board of the Australian Information Industry Association and is a member of the UNSW Business School Business Advisory Council.

As the Independent Chair, Mr Stevens will ensure the technical standards developed maximise the benefits for consumers and are developed in consultation with industry, technology firms, and consumer and privacy groups.

Mr Stevens will appoint an Advisory Committee to provide broad input on the issues the Standards will need to address. As the operational arm of the Data Standards Body, Data61 is supporting Mr Stevens in forming a small Advisory Committee to guide the development of technical standards covering all aspects of data transfer ranging from data formatting, data transfer, authentication, security and policy application.

Data61 is now seeking expressions of interest for membership to the Advisory Committee.

The Advisory Committee members will be appointed in a personal capacity and the Committee  is intended to represent the broad economy-wide application of the Consumer Data Right identified by the Treasurer.

Members will be selected across banking, telecommunications, energy and other industries, as well as consumer and privacy groups, to ensure all considerations are addressed.

Key selection criteria for members of the Advisory Committee include:

  • a strong appreciation of consumer-facing innovation
  • an understanding of privacy and security issues for consumers and business
  • an understanding of standards setting processes
  • an understanding of the technical requirements of systems development and applications.

Nominations must be submitted via email with a brief description (no more than one page) of how the nominated member satisfies the core criteria for the Advisory Committee, alongside a one-page CV by Friday 8 June, 5pm AEST. Members will be appointed at the discretion of the Chair.

Nominations should be sent to:

Contact us

Find out how we can help you and your business. Get in touch using the form below and our experts will get in contact soon!

CSIRO will handle your personal information in accordance with the Privacy Act 1988 (Cth) and our Privacy Policy.

First name must be filled in

Surname must be filled in

I am representing *

Please choose an option

Please provide a subject for the enquriy

0 / 100

We'll need to know what you want to contact us about so we can give you an answer

0 / 1900

You shouldn't be able to see this field. Please try again and leave the field blank.