Blog icon

30 November 2020 Statement

Other winners included start-up company v2food for commercialising research in plant-based meat alternatives; an investment tool for transport logistics in road and rail freight; understanding water resources in Northern Australia; and the Eureka Prize-winning Indigenous STEM Education project.

CSIRO Chief Executive Larry Marshall said this year's awards were particularly poignant, and thanked the organisation's many partners, customers, and supporters through the tough year.

"This year has tested every one of us, professionally and personally, and every day I have been in awe of our people's determination to make life better for Australia despite unprecedented disruption," Dr Marshall said.

"All of our finalists today demonstrate the depth and breadth of impact we've had this year, at a time when Australia has needed its national science agency most – and will need us more than ever in the years ahead as we recover from this pandemic.

"CSIRO has demonstrated why Australia's high levels of trust in us are so well placed, and we come to work every day to continue to deserve that trust."

Minister for Industry, Science and Technology Karen Andrews congratulated CSIRO with an "almighty thank you".

"I think it is impossible to overstate the gratitude we all have for your work in what's been an extraordinary year," Minister Andrews said.

"Our black summer of devastating bushfires and the COVID-19 pandemic have reinforced just how central science is to our very survival.

"In those times of turmoil, we have turned to our scientists, particularly you at the CSIRO, to help shine a light on the unknown and map a path for the future.

"CSIRO is truly a national treasure. And over the last twelve months you've deepened the trust of the Australian people that are looking to science to light a way forward.

"I am grateful for all your hard work, and on behalf of a grateful nation, I again say thank you."

Full list of 2020 CSIRO Award winners:

The Chairman's Medal for Science and Engineering Excellence

The ACDP COVID-19 team

For scientific excellence in foresight, concept, development and rapid delivery of a challenge model and evaluation of candidate vaccines along with associated research, to exacting standards for licensing, in the face of the COVID-19 pandemic.

The Sir Ian McLennan Impact from Science and Engineering Medal

The TraNSIT team

For pioneering research towards the Transport Network Strategic Investment Tool (TraNSIT) and revolutionising the way Australia's transport-related infrastructure investments are prioritised, together with partners at the Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Communications, and acknowledging Anthony Carlson for his support.

The CSIRO Entrepreneurship Award


For a highly successful entrepreneurial approach to create the v2food start-up company to develop and commercialise innovative plant-based meat alternative products.

The CSIRO Collaboration Medal

The Northern Australian Water Resource Assessment (NAWRA) team

For the collaboration necessary to successfully deliver the most extensive, multi-disciplinary water and agricultural assessment of its kind in the world, together with partners at the Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Communications.

COVID-19 Vaccine development team

For their rapid and collaborative efforts to conduct critical research and manufacturing work in pursuit of a potential COVID-19 vaccine, together with partners at CSL, University of Queensland, and Coalition for Epidemic Preparedness Innovations (CEPI).

The Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Engagement Impact Excellence Medal

Indigenous STEM Education Project

For working in partnership with schools and communities to establish best practice education models that increase participation, aspiration and achievement of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander students and communities in science, technology, engineering and mathematics.

The CSIRO Medal for Lifetime Achievement

Louise Glenn

Kathy McInnes

Phil Larkin

The Chief Executive Team CSIRO Award

Simon Barry

Sarah Pearce

The CSIRO HSE Medal for Area Custodian of the Year

Australian National Insect Collection (ANIC) Ethanol Collection Relocation Team

CSIRO Alerts Notification Service Project Team

The CSIRO Medal for Support Excellence

Flattening the Response Curve

The CSIRO Medal for Diversity and Inclusion

Domestic family violence and abuse working group

The John Philip Award for the Promotion of Excellence in Young Scientists and Engineers

Bita Bayatsarmadi

Adrian Murdock

The Delia Muller Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Study Award

Cassandra Diamond

The Chief Executive Professional Development Award

Hayley McGillivray

Max Temminghoff


Scientists at CSIRO’s state-of-the-art biologics production facility in Melbourne work on producing and scaling-up The University of Queensland's (UQ) vaccine candidate for COVID-19. ©  Nick Pitsas
Scientists working in the secure area at CSIRO's Australian Centre for Disease Preparedness (ACDP).
TRANSIT has been used to map movements of cattle trucks Australia-wide
TraNSIT optimises transport routes for hundreds of thousands of enterprises.
v2food Burger with v2burgers ©  v2food
Cooked v2food burger patties.
CSIRO's Indigenous STEM Education Project.
CSIRO's Indigenous STEM Education Project.

Contact us

Find out how we can help you and your business. Get in touch using the form below and our experts will get in contact soon!

CSIRO will handle your personal information in accordance with the Privacy Act 1988 (Cth) and our Privacy Policy.

First name must be filled in

Surname must be filled in

I am representing *

Please choose an option

Please provide a subject for the enquriy

0 / 100

We'll need to know what you want to contact us about so we can give you an answer

0 / 1900

You shouldn't be able to see this field. Please try again and leave the field blank.